Monday, March 9, 2009

Guild History

A Quilter’s Tale
The History of the River City Quilt Guild

By Suzi Montague based on information provided by Pat Hodgin, et al

Once upon a time there was only one quilt guild in town, the Patchwork Pelicans, a close group of about 12. There were other quilters in Baton Rouge who longed for the kinship of quilting. So began their odyssey with a few members from the Embroiderers Guild of America. The group gained focus with Julie Mohr in 1984. What began as a cluster of helping hands, to assist Julie in creating and completing a quilt show for the NQA-GSQA, became the charter membership of the guild.

Julie Mohr is an NQA certified quilting instructor with skills in hand piecing, hand quilting and appliqué. She is a Midwesterner with Mennonite roots and a long family history of quilting.
Names you may recognize from the “good old days” are Ann Crossley, Gail McClain, Pam Rosebrook, Thelma Berg, Ella Wilkinson (Gail Bass’s Mom), Louise Bradford, Marilyn Kelley, Barbara Hoffman, Pat Hodgin, Marsha Dardenne, Lynne Frutiger and Norma McGee to name just a few.

1985 – “Le Fete’ de Piquage” – National Quilting Association. The debut at the Great Hall of the Bellemont Hotel presented a judged show, fashion show, luncheon, and merchants’ mall. Kit Carpenter won Best of Show with a quilt, which later went on to win at the AQS show in Paducah, KY. Veronica Fitzgerald also entered a quilt, which later won Best of Show at Quilt National held in Ohio in 1987.

Guild Name: Suggested by David Kelley, husband of Marilyn.

Original Guild Logo: In 1985, Lynne Frutiger and Norma McGee created a Baton Rouge skyline logo which was appliquéd on docent aprons used at the show.

Present Guild Logo and Pin: Deanna Carney made this design in 1988. She now resides in Norway. Her use of color (blue, fuschia and green) and their placement was to depict azaleas by a body of water.

Guild Banner: Created by Eileen Parent.

Initially, members met in one another’s homes. As the guild grew in number, the Goodwood Library became the permanent meeting place.


1985 – There was a succession of presidents: Marsha Dardenne, Pat Hodgin, then Thelma Berg completed the year.
1986 - Thelma Berg
1987 - Thelma Berg
2007 - Margie Bumm
2008 - Margie Bumm
2009 - Mary Woltmann
2010 - Mary Woltmann
2011 - Jo Paula Lantier
2012 - Cynthia McGee
2013 - Barbara Lankford
2014 - Renee Hoeprich
2015 - Renee Hoeprich
2016 - Daisy Comeaux
2017 - Daisy Comeaux
2018 - Elena Acosta